Bill Clinton said he did it but didn’t inhale. Kamala Harris said she did it and definitely did inhale. What are we talking about? It’s all about smoking marijuana at college. Literature and the movies are full of college students who smoke hashish. Your mom and dad probably did it too. Yet that does not make it legal, and if you go to the University of West Georgia in Carrollton, you are likely to get caught by the on-campus police and charged.
What happens if you are charged depends on the quantity and whether you have been caught before. It also depends on what charges they bring against you. Charges for having a small amount for yourself incur lower penalties than those for delivering it or selling it.
- If you have less than an ounce, for personal use, it is a misdemeanor offense. You could face a year in jail or a $1,000 fine. If it is your first offense, you could receive a conditional charge, community service and a fine.
- If you have more than an ounce or are charged with selling a small amount, it becomes a felony, and you could face jail for between one and 10 years.
- If charged with trafficking, fines range between $100,000 and $1,000,000 and jail time between one year and 15 years.
If all that is not bad enough, a drug offense could lead to suspension of your financial aid, the college could take action against you, and you may be turned down when applying for education and jobs in the future.
If you consider marijuana to be an essential part of your college life, perhaps you need to take your education in a different state. If it is too late, and you have been charged with drug offenses while at college in Georgia, seek urgent legal help. You need to do everything you can to defend yourself.